Guided tour of Montmartre

Montmartre, which used to form a village outside of Paris (the City of Montmartre was annexed to Paris in 1860), was already inhabited during the Gallo roman period : indeed, a temple dedicated to Mercury (Mons Mercurii) and another one dedicated to Mars (Mons Martis) were there ; but “Mons Martyrium” is the name the abbot of Saint-Denis, Hilduin, gave to the mound in the IXth century, in reference to the martyrdom that Saint-Denis, according to the legend, was subjected to : beheaded, he would have picked up his head and would have walked until his grave…

In the old days colonized by mills and greenery, Montmartre is linked to the memory of an artists’ village (Renoir, Utrillo, Picasso…) ; it was and is still a party place with its mythical cabarets (the Moulin Rouge, au Lapin Agile…) and its balls (Le Moulin de la Galette), and keeps its countryside atmosphere.

From place Blanche and the Moulin Rouge, the way to the mound leads us to a maze of serpentine and hilly streets, that reveal a thousand of wonders, and give Montmartre its particular cachet  : on the tracks of the “maquis de Montmartre” and of the château des Brouillards,  we see Dalida’s house, the vineyard, the so famous Sacré Cœur and the more discreet  Saint-Pierre church, the shortest square of Paris (place du Calvaire), the “I love you wall”…

 

Photo credits : Emilie Robaldo

Visite de Montmartre

Montmartre, qui forma un village longtemps situé en dehors de Paris (la Commune de Montmartre est annexée à Paris en 1860), était déjà habité à l’époque gallo-romaine : en effet un temple y était dédié à Mercure (Mons Mercurii) et un autre à Mars (Mons Martis) ; mais « Mons Martyrium » est le nom que l’abbé de Saint-Denis, Hilduin, donna à la butte au IXème siècle, en référence au martyre que Saint-Denis, selon la légende, subit sur la butte: décapité, il aurait ramassé sa tête et marché jusqu’à sa sépulture…

Autrefois peuplé de moulins et de verdure, Montmartre est associé au souvenir d’un village d’artistes (impressionnistes et modernes) ; ce fut et cela demeure un lieu de fête, avec ses cabarets mythiques (le Moulin Rouge, au Lapin Agile…) et ses bals (Le Moulin de la Galette), et garde un petit air de campagne.

Depuis la place Blanche et le Moulin Rouge, l’ascension de la butte nous mène dans un dédale de rues serpentines et vallonnées qui dévoilent mille curiosités, et donnent un cachet si particulier à Montmartre : sur les traces du « maquis de Montmartre » et du château des Brouillards,  on rencontre des vignes, « au Lapin Agile », le très reconnaissable Sacré Cœur et la plus discrète église St-Pierre, la plus petite place de Paris (la place du Calvaire),  le Bateau Lavoir, et la place des Abbesses.

 

*Bonus*

Crédits photos : Emilie Robaldo