Guided tour of the Musée d’Orsay

Until 1986, we used to miss a museum which shows art of the 2nd part of the XIXth century : there are no works of art made after 1848 at the Louvre, and those in the Centre Pompidou are from the XXth century… Creation of a new museum was obvious, in the 1970′s ; it was inaugurated 16 years later.

Set up in the old train station of Orsay, created for the Universal Exhibition of 1900 on the bygone palace of Orsay, this museum exhibits masterpieces of painting (not only), which mark the beginning of modernity, and the movement which upset art of painting : impressionnism.

The visit permits to have a global vision about evolution of painting from the XIXth c. (and about art in general, until 1914) : around the Impressionnists (Renoir’s portraits, Monet’s landscapes, Degas’s ballet dancers, or the famous Luncheon on the grass by Manet), other tendencies appeared, like expressionnism (Van Gogh), pointillism (Seurat, Signac), or the “Nabis” (it goes near abstraction…) ; but beyond painting, let’s get interested in art of caricature (Daumier’s funny raw clays), or the very beautiful collection Art Nouveau on the 1st floor.

Visite du Musée d’Orsay

Jusqu’en 1986, il manquait à Paris un musée qui exposait l’art de la 2e moitié du XIXème siècle : les oeuvres d’art au Louvre ne sont pas postérieures à 1848, et celles du centre Pompidou datent au moins du XXème siècle… La création d’un nouveau musée s’imposa, dans les années 1970 ; il fut inauguré 16 ans plus tard.

Aménagé dans l’ancienne gare d’Orsay, construite à l’occasion de l’Exposition Universelle de 1900 sur l’ancien palais d’Orsay, ce musée dévoile des chefs d’oeuvres de la peinture (mais pas seulement), qui marquent l’entrée dans la modernité, et le mouvement qui va bouleverser l’art de la peinture : l’impressionnisme.

La visite permet d’avoir une vision d’ensemble sur l’évolution de la peinture du XIXème siècle (et de l’art en général jusqu’en 1914) : autour des impressionnistes (les portraits de Renoir, les paysages de Monet, les danseuses de Degas, ou le célèbre Déjeuner sur l’Herbe de Manet) d’autres sensibilités suivent, comme l’expressionnisme (Van Gogh), le pointillisme (Seurat, Signac), ou les Nabis (on s’approche de l’abstraction…) ; mais au-delà de la peinture, il ne faut pas écarter l’art de la caricature (avec les terres crues d’ Honoré Daumier), ni la très belle collection Art Nouveau, au 1er étage.